Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Suzuki Intruder v Suzuki Boulevard S40 LAMS

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by rebeldown, Oct 21, 2014.

1. So let's hear it... your opinions!

I am a beginner. I decided on a 2014 Suzuki Intruder 250cc LAMS (V-twin) however the guy at the shop informed me the 2014 Boulevard s40 650cc (single cylinder) is now coming to Australia! They're both sweet bikes. I've yet to test-ride and I like the Intruder look the best. I'm 5'11 / 85kilos. I'll be doing city rides as well as in the hills and some freeway riding...

Please give me your opinions with reasons :) I am indecisive now that he mentioned the s40!

Thank you
  2. The s40s got twice the torque. Enough said
  3. S40 unless they price it at 10k
  4. ok.. thanks.. I read somewhere the s40 isn't so great on highways? Of course there's also the Harley Street 500 coming too... though I hear it's gonna be pricey.. 11k-ish.. hmmm

s40 is gonna be $7990 I believe he said.
  5. Don't know much about the S40, but most 250cc cruisers are typically not built (powered/geared) for sustained highway travel.
    The thumper might be a viable option, assuming you've decided against the rest of the bigger engine LAMS cruisers.
  6. BTW, if it's still only a 10L tank on the S40, expect to become very familiar with petrol stations.
    • Agree Agree x 2
  7. I hear there might bea new kwaka cruiser with the er6 engine.

That segment is getting interesting all of a sudden after years of only having the xvs
  8. Thank you. I'd be open to your ideas but not into anything overly heavy. I sat on the 650cc vstar and it felt massive. lol I haven't ridden in yearrrrs so I want to start out and re-learn on something small/medium ish.
    • Winner Winner x 1