Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

suzuki intruder bike

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by bikechickadee, Jun 15, 2006.

1. :wink: :? still on my first bike hunt!!! do any of you own or have ridden a Suzuki Intruder 250cc (cruiser style bike) what do you reckon?? positives & negatives I want to hear about it!! Also are they generally better than Yamaha Virago cruisers they look to me less plastic & better made but I have an untrained eye, as I am new to bikes....

your thoughts on the Intruder as compared to virago 250 would be appreciated, thanks guys & gals keep up the good talk I enjoy reading it all & when i do buy a bike will come for a ride with some of you maybe you can surround me & keep the cars off my arse... they make me nervous!!!!! mind u my car driving makes people nervous sometimes!!

2. The 250 Virago has a reliable motor.
    Used to be Yamaha's top selling bike in the cruiser class.
    Been in production a long time now, so all problems early models may have had have been sorted.

Best thing is to type the name and model of the bike you are interested in into a google question...

Yamaha 250 Virago reviews.

Yamaha 250 Virago problems.
  3. Hi Sheri,

I've been riding a 250 Intruder for about 2 years now. While i've never riden a Virago i can give you my quick review of my Intruder.

Mechanically I've never had a problem with it. It starts every morning even when my nostrils are icing up. You'll get about 200km before hitting reserve on it's 9/12ltr tank, bit less if you're city riding. One downside is the mirrors are placed really badly if you're trying to filter.

I'm 6'2 and not on the small side and the bike stays comfy for about 200-300 k's. After that it'll start getting a bit sore.