Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Suzuki GSX250 streetfighter/cafe racer

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by Fitty, Mar 29, 2010.

1. A mate and I bought a 1984 Suzuki GSX250 when we were 18 or 19, and it's been sitting in the garage ever since. It's not an especially desirable or pretty bike, but I've never done a bike build before, so I've decided to do a ground up restoration/rebuild and hopefully learn a thing or two along the way.

My basic plan is to get down to the frame, re-paint it, then re-fit everything, servicing or replacing things as I go along (preferably the former; I'm not looking to spend much money on it). This is the bike I'm starting with:

And this is something like what I want to end up with:

Suggestions and questions are welcome. I'll update the thread with pictures as I go along.

2. My mate and I did a bit tonight and got to this stage:

3. Mate am doing the same thing with the same bike, managed to pick up an old rusty beast for $200, have stripped it down to the frame and will gradually build it back up to something respectable. Ive set myself a budget of an additional $2000 to get it to run, ive already chewed through $121.95 buying some miscellaneous bits and pieces like pod filters, carbie cleaner, inox spray, battery, paint stripper, electrical tape. Luckily im heading to Vietnam in 2 weeks so i am going to get some cheap parts while i am there.

Any progress on your build?
  4. I made the mistake of telling everyone about the fun bit, before I started the hard bit. Still sitting in a pile in the garage, although I'm planning to get it started again, soon.
  5. The gsx 250 wasn't a bad bike, the problem is it was really a 400 with only 250cc capacity.