Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Suzuki Gs500

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by jas33694, Jan 31, 2011.

1. Hi

Im new here and hoping I'm posting in the right spot.

I'm also new to riding, and love it - should have done it earlier!!, I currently am on my P's and have a 2008 GS500. Great bike even though I haven't ridden anything else other than a scooter.

My question is I have been ridding it since FEB 2010 and have been putting premium fuel, that is 95% octane, as the guy I brought it from said that is what you use.
    Lately the I have noticed when I downshift there is a type of pinging noise or more like gravel being shaken in a plastic jar kinda noise that occurs especially in the higher gears as I slow for a red light etc. I do use both brakes as I downshift so I am not just letting the engine do all the work.

Does this occur because I am using the incorrect fuel????
    Most service stations have changed their regular 91% to contain ethanol and since all the bad publicity about ethanol I am sceptical about using it.

I get my bike serviced at the required/recommended service intervals at a Suzuki dealer and was only serviced a couple of thousand Km's ago that being the 10000km service.

Am I doing/using something I shouldn't be as I want to look after the bike but having little or no knowledge of bikes I'm at a loss... Any info received would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks in advance!

2. I'd expect detonation (or preignition) to be more noticeable on acceleration rather than overrun. At least that's how it was in the olden days. If the bike idles ok, its not a blocked pilot jet.
    Worn chain perhaps or something just come loose and rattling around with the engine vibes? (not so bad)