Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Suzuki GS500 - Honda VTR250

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by Joshua Brace, Oct 12, 2016.

1. Hey Guys,

Newbie here, quick bit about myself.

I'm 25, rode dirt bikes all through my teenage years, sold the bike a few years back and haven't ridden much since.

Now, I went and got my L's last weekend as I'm looking to get back on a bike and commute to work as can't afford to run 2 cars and the wife needs the car full time.

I'll be commuting roughly 20 mins a days through moderate traffic, backstreets/highway with the fastest road being 70km/h

Besides that I'll only ever be going for the occasional cruise through the national park as I live literally 2 mins drive from the entrance and it's a great drive and I imagine a great ride.

I'd say I'll very rarely (if ever) need to ride on a freeway or anything like that.

Now Im a big fan of the naked bike, so I have it narrowed down to the GS500 or VTR250, hopefully going to test ride both soon and have watched numerous YouTube videos on both, I was leaning more towards the GS500 as naturally I assumed bigger bike bigger engine . surely that's the go? All the YouTube videos I've watched they look like a good bike and the reviewers have nice things to say about them.

But I've also seen such comments on here as "boring" "commuter" .. etc and that the VTR despite the smaller engine is in fact the more fun bike .

Can anybody elaborate more on that fact?

Also I'm only light about 70kg and 6ft tall.

Thanks for Reading,

Josh.

2. sit on a VTR, see if your legs fit.

3. I'm hoping to test one on the weekend, you think it might be a bit small?

4.  Top
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Cheers Mate!

Just had a look, looks like I'll fit on the VTR250.