Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Suzuki Drive Mode Selector (how does is actually work?)

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by MelbourneMick, Jul 12, 2011.

1. G'day all,

I have been looking at information on the 2010 / 2011 GSXR 600's and have come across the Suzuki Drive Mode Selector in the specs. The Suzuki website states -
    "Equipped with two performance settings, the refined Suzuki Drive Mode Selector (S-DMS) offers advanced digital engine management for instantaneous switching between engine maps to suit rider preference or riding conditions. "

I am no mechanic so If you could keep any replies as nontechnical as possible that would be brilliant.

But what does it actually do? Does it have something to do with throttle control?

Does if give you better fuel economy in a different mode?

Is it even worth having or is it a gimic to to entice less experienced riders into believing they can handle one of these bikes?

2. Yes.

Non technical enough?

:)

From what I understand, it alters spark timing & fuel delivery to change the way the power is delivered (ie how fast) & how much power is delivered.

I expect fuel economy would be slightly better/or roughly the same & I expect it's mostly a gimmick.

Just my uninformed opinion.

3. Well considering my post before editing said 'untechnical' I will take whatever answers I can get haha.

So it seems to work in a similar way some LAMS bikes are restricted but this gives the ability to switch between the two.

4. Fuel economy most likely wouldn't change significantly.