Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Suzuki Bandit 250cc

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Badsi, Dec 21, 2008.

1. I just purchased a Suzuki Bandit 250cc Limited Edition. I am new to a manual bike. I've been ridding a 50cc 2 stroke scooter for about 6 months. After I've taken the bike for a few rides I've noticed that the bike behaves a bit wired on the first gear while taking off on lights. There is a "death silence" while taking off and it just doesn’t want to go faster .. I'm quite sure I'm on first gear! What might be the problem? Any ideas? It might be my fault I don’t really know.. I’m still learning and it seems really dangerous to me when a car is sitting on my ass and waiting till I take off .. Sometimes it goes well sometimes it does this strange thing :( What is the basic rule in taking off ? I’m taking of from about 2500/3000 and it sounds "right". Oh and one more question: I need to buy new mirrors and a windscreen. The handle mirror has 11 inches what is really long >>??<< Suzuki bandits don’t have a windscreen usually because they are naked. This one has because its a special edition.. Length 12 inches, width 14 inches. Hope those questions don’t sound too stupid :D Would appreciate any help :)

2. id double check you are in first.
    have a bit of a practice taking off in the back yard or in a quiet back street.

If its like the common gear selection it should be 1 - N - 2 - 3 - 4 - 5 - (6).

make sure that you are first by pushing the selector down until it does not click any further.
    if you lift it once, it should get Neutral or 2nd if you went too far.
    if it gets 3rd, you werent in first.

also, make sure you are releasing the clutch fully too.