Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Suzuki Bandit 250 vs Yamaha FZX 250 (Zeal)

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by jimbob80, Jan 25, 2012.

1. Hello all,

It has been a while since I have been here..! Life and time gets away sometime.

Anyway, I am just wanting some opinions on two bikes, if you have another to recommend then please do so. But I am currently wanting to know which of the two would be better for comfort, performance and economy.

I have been riding for 5 years, have owned a GS 500 and a GSXR-600. I have not had a bike for two years now and need to get one for commuting to and from work. I am not looking for anything too big, hence the choice of 250. I am also not fussed with having something underpowered in comparison to what I once owned.

Currently I am looking at either a Suzuki Bandit 250 or Yamaha FZX 250 (Zeal).

2. From the two on offer my choice would be the Zeal - great little bikes.
    Relatively simple and nimble with a bit of style to boot (y)
  3. Another GS500 not an option?

I've got an FZX 250, they're a fun little bike - but I'm only a learner, and 2 months down the track I already want something with more torque (that said it is lugging my 100 kg body around).

GS500 are better on fuel too, I think. I'm lucky to get 220 km on the zeal before hitting reserve (5L+/100km)

One thing to consider with the zeal is parts availability/price, complexity to service etc... it doesn't seem to be overly great.
  4. 220km on a tank is a luxury on a bigger sport bike to be sure
  5. People tend to report 4 - 4.5L/100km on GS500. 300 - 350km per tank

At any rate what's a litre/100km between friends? :p
  6. Ha! :D

I'm not on a litre - I ride a 650.