Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Suzuki Across

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Jimi, Oct 12, 2004.

1. Anyone who knows me from my past posts will know I am totally new to the whole bike thing. I don't even have a bike yet (hopefully to change soon :?: )

Anyway, the reason for this post is simply...

Why dos everyone bag the Across? I have been looking a bikes at the shops and I can't see whats wrong with them, even to the point that I may even buy one. Is it just a big joke or does the bike actually suck? :?

I want your thoughts people! :shock:

2. ... it's got a hand-bag where the tank should be ... do you really need to say anything else?

3. In my line of work I will sometimes need that space though, I have to deliver brochures etc to stores, that space is perfect for that sort of thing...

So sorry Fixed, that didn't help deter me...

4. All kinds of bikes get "negative" views from people - as it has been said to me numerous times in the industry I'm working in, "If you're doing something right, people will be talking about you & putting you down".
    Also, everyone has their own ideas as to what may be a Good or Bad point - what is important to one person, may mean nothing to someone else.

The BAD points about the Across:

Small Fuel Tank - depending on the bike, rider, etc. this means you will not get far before you have to re-fill (don't agree - I can get over 200 km's before refilling, without even having the "red" light come on)

Expensive to service - I don't think this is exclusive to the Across, but a bike with Fairings will cost you more for servicing than a bike without Fairings (not an issue if you do the servicing yourself)

The GOOD points about the Across:

Has the Helmet storage space (glovebox).