Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Suspension Adjustment

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by lui, Jan 4, 2010.

1. My bike has adjustable front and rear suspensions, how much would it cost to have them professionally tuned according to my weight? Any recommended workshop in Sydney metro? Cheers!

2. What kind of bike? What kind of use (commuter, weekend twisties, track)? What kind of adjustments? Help us out here :)

Personally I'm more of a fan of tuning it yourself to suit your riding style and regular roads. Its really not that hard on most bikes, especially basic stuff like rear preload.

Cheers - boingk
  3. It's a Speed Triple, mainly city plus commute, no track. I'm not good at mechanical stuff, so rather to get the pros to their job.
  4. I guess you'd want them to adjust the preload so that you have the correct sag for your body weight.
    Let say it takes 15 mins, which is ~$25 for labour.

Then, you just fiddle with the compression & rebound damping to your liking. :)

As you'd expect, there's heaps of articles online and in bike mags.
  5. Suspension adjustment is not something for a mechanic. It meant to be set by the rider. Anybody trying to set it for your weight would be guessing.

If you are not confident doing it yourself, then you need to be with someone who can, but you still need to actively participate.

The triumphs are very sensative to suspension settings and tyre pressure.

Where in Sydney are you? What year model speed tripple?