Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Superbike School or track day?

Discussion in 'Racing, Motorsports, and Track Days' started by UDLOSE, Jan 15, 2010.

1. I was going to hijack the other thread but decided against it.

I'm looking to do the superbike school level 1 soon, I'm an expirienced road rider so I don't think I'll be in over my head, the goal is to refine my skills/inprove form etc and prepare myself for track speeds.

I've never done a track day before, I only recently got all my gear in order. The question I have is am I better off doing a regular track day first or doing the superbike school first?

I want to make the most of the sbk school so should I be comfitable with the track before attending or is intended for people who have never been on the track?

I know I can't go too wrong either way but I'd still prefer to hear from someone whos done the school.

2. You are absolutely better off doing the School (level 1) first. It's effectively designed to give you the skills right from the beginning to get you out on track safely and competently.
    Do the school and you will see what I mean. No matter how good a road rider you may be, they will give you valuable tools to improve your riding on and off track.
  3. awesome thanks mate! That's what I was assuming but I have a mate (who hasn't done the course) saying that I should do a track day first to get the most out of the day which didn't sound right to me. That's why I wanted to check with someone who's actually done the course.

Now all i need to do is find $500 and I'm there!

EDIT: and wait 3.5 months for the next day! I put myself on the waiting list for the one in a month's time.