Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discussion in 'The Pub' started by 99sydrd, Oct 10, 2008.

1. Hey, I just recieved my super statement and it says i have lost -$9,870 since june this year.

With the current crisis with the stocks ect this means i could stand to loose the lot.

I pity those who are about to retire.Luckly i've still got a few years to go.

How did you guys fare.

2. mine has been crap too, between admin and stock losses and three different super funds from different jobs.... I need to work till I'm very very old :(
  3. I've been paying into private super for 20 years, and into compulsory super since it was made so, but I doubt if that's going to mean much in 6 year's time :(.
  4. Sit tight Paul. The current situation wont last forever.
  5. Why don't you consolidate all of your super into the one fund?
    That way you only pay fees for one fund. :idea:
  6. Yeah I know, had done it with a couple but every job I have had wants to use their own super so I need to do it again just need to sort out which is the best one to go with
  7. I've got PS146 compliance in super and did a stint in a Financial Planners office, so I can provide people with general super advice.

Firstly, consolidate. You get charged crazy fee's by funds which are just charitable donations on your part. $1 lost now is $30 in about 30 years time, assuming moderate returns.

Don't worry too much about your fund statements. It's time in the market, not timing. Although now's the best time to make contributions, although the market may fall a little further.

As for those about to retire. I'd advise anyone over 55 to switch to a conservative option rather than a risky share fund. As would any financial planner worth their salt.