Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

SUMOTO North Melbourne, are they any good...?

Discussion in 'Businesses and Service Providers' started by ezekiel77, Jan 8, 2007.

1. Okay, I've just purchased a 1997 250cc Hornet (23,000Kms) from SUMOTO in North Melbourne.

I've not yet picked the bike up, but am nervous as a friend has mentioned that they'd not heard good things about SUMOTO... Should I be worried? The bike look top notch... I took a friend with me as I have little experience with what to look for...

Do any of you guys have any comments, info regarding these 'SUMOTO' guys? I've until Wednesday to pull-out... be gentle, I'm hoping I don't get burned...

Thanks, Zek. :eek:

2. There's people here who bag Sumoto for various reasons. I haven't purchased a bike from them nor know anyone who has so can't provide first or second hand feedback.

My view is that they import bikes so you can't be sure about its history. That's not to say that you won't get something that is mechanically sound. Its like any other used bike - get it checked to see if its OK.

Im.on.it has a Hornet. Maybe you could ask him about them if you want to put your mind at rest.
  3. Search is your friend.

in short.
    Sumoto has been known to sell some prety dodgy imports. They have also sold some in prety good shape.
    But. You will end up paying top dollar for what is essentually a second hand bike.

If you want the gleaming flashy bike and are happy to pay that. then by all means throw the dice. You may get a good one, and then you will be all smiles.
    We have a whole bundle of happy Sumoto riders on netrider... We also have a lot of people who wuoldn't pi$$ on em if they were on fire.
  4. can we ask how much you paid for the Hornet?