Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Summer dilemma for a total noob

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by GEIST, Oct 5, 2015.

1. Hi everyone,

I'm new around here, and I'll be picking up my first bike shortly (CBR250RR) to learn on.

My dilemma is actually on wearing protective gear.. Don't get me wrong, I'm not opposed to it, but at the same time I'm not a full on speed freak, I actually don't enjoy going really really fast.. And I wanted to know what people would recommend in terms of gear for the hotter months?

It's so dam hot and I'm the type of person who will have all the enjoyment of riding sucked right out of me if I have to sweat and over heat to hell in a thick leather jacket.. I would rather not ride at all..

What do people do in the summer months? I need ideas. I want to be safe, and I want to make the right decisions, but at the same time I don't want to destroy my experience of riding.. I bloody HATE being really hot, it effects me in such a crap way, headaches, tiredness and frustration to name a few of the symptoms I'll be feeling cooking away in a heavy jacket..

As I am very new to riding on the roads, I just want to know how other people go about it, and what you've done in your experience in riding in Australia.
  2. Get a good lightweight perforated summer jacket. I love my leather jacket but I could never wear it in summer. The Dririder summer jacket and a t-shirt are all I need, it also has a liner I can put in if things cool down a bit later in the day.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Thanks Senna, that actually looks like a really nice riding jacket too! Although it still looks so hot :depressed: