Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Stupid questions from a stupid person.

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Cannibal Bob, Mar 4, 2009.

1. Hi all, please bear with me on this, I'm a complete beginner to bikes and have absolutely no idea what I'm talking about, so if I say stupid things or ask stupid questions don't be surprised.

Now then; I'm a University student, please don't hold it against me, and every year I say to myself I should get a bike because while there are never any car parks, there are always heaps of bike spots. In fact there is one bike parking area where you only ever see one or two bikes at most. Then there is the fuel consumption and such.

This year I've decided to bite the bullet and just buy a bike. With rising fuel prices and all the little trips I need to do during the week it just doesn't make sense to always take the car.

At first it was an easy decision; get the cheapest bike available. Simple. Then as I thought about it and did research things became complicated. Allow me to outline my thought processes.

I like cars; again please don't hold that against me. I've lately come to terms with the fact that I wont be earning huge amounts of money in my chosen career once I graduate, and that doesn't bother me because I value happiness far above money, but it does pose a problem with my dream to one day own a sports car or track day car. This was further compounded by a recent holiday last month where I went to Eastern Creek and drove a race car; now I'm itching to do that sort of thing again.