Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

stuff related to engines (size, power, lots of other stuff)

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by kinch, Aug 9, 2008.

1. Hi,

As a newbie, I ride a 225cc bike. It's basically crap. Slow, ugly, small fuel tank - I could go on about the things I don't like about it. However, I specifically bought it because I wanted something to learn on that would give me good basics without the temptation to thrash it and do something stupid before I was ready. Now I feel like I'm stuck. The bike is a single cylinder, with a 12L fuel tank, and 5 gears. 4th gear will get me to about 50km/hr, 5th will handle 60-100 (but I really have to thrash it to get to 100km, and no matter what speed/gear, even a gentle rise will take 10-20km off my speed).

I started looking for bikes, 500-750cc. Got a lot of good recommendations from the good folks here, unfortunately not many of them were available nearby (I'm looking for a recent model 2nd hand, since I'm pretty sure I'll drop it). Then I started thinking about all the other stuff related to engines, and had a ton of questions I couldn't find the answers to. Hence, the newbie post ;)