Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Struggling to maneuver in 1st gear, is it me or the bike

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by OscarA, Jun 21, 2009.

1. Need some advise, I'm new to riding (only one month) and have a FZX250 Zeal which I'm enjoying riding and building my confidence on but I have one problem.
    My problem is low speed maneuvering especially with small roundabouts or tight u turns.
    If I keep the bike in first gear every time I give the bike a little throttle she lunges forward. I have adjusted the throttle as it was a little slack and I have tightened the chain which has help eliminate the jerky gear changes but down low I find it hard to control the bike.
    I try very small throttle movements but so far no good.
    What mistake am I making, should I forget about using first gear except for initial take off?
    Could it be a characteristic of the bike as it's a very revy bike?

2. feather the clutch, its all in clutch control. maybe use second?

3. +1

keep revs steady and control the speed with the clutch.

4.  Top
  5. +1

Some times first is just to jerky, i have trouble doing u-turns in first usually end up putting the foot down. But in 2nd it's much smoother.

First really only is taking off and a lot of the time you can just do that in 2nd to. Esp if you have dropped the teeth on your sprockets.

6. as you ride more your throttle control will get better. try a few car park sessions riding in 1st.

7. Thanks for all the replies it's much appreciated.
    I'll practice my clutch control and see how I go.
    The bike is revy so using second gear at low speed makes sense.
    I wasn't sure if I was doing something wrong and as it turns out I was :oops: