Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Stiff Clutch Pedal - Cant Change Gears

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Fenji, May 27, 2012.

1. Hi All,

I am riding a brand new motorcycle, and over the past day (ive only had the bike for two days) there have been times where the gear shift pedal has been super stiff, to the degree that i couldnt change from first to second gear.

What could be causing this? Is it the cold weather? Is it something i am doing?

Help would be much appreciated
  2. needs new muffler bearings.
    take it back.
  3. Can you explain that to me? Im a noob, so dont really know the connection between muffler bearings and the clutch pedal
  4. firstly he's yanking your chain.
    second the clutch is operated by your left hand
    third try this: with the bike OFF, work through the gears. use your hand if you prefer. work them up and down. if they work fine then it's your clutch technique, NOT an issue with your gearbox

it's not much, but it's a start
  5. thanks mate. ill have a look now.

other dude, u are a douche
  6. take it back and demand they check the muffler bearing clearances
  7. if it is my clutch technique, what might i be doing wrong? I am new to motorbike riding, and have never driven a manual car, so am totally new to all of this.
  8. without being able to see you in action i can only suggest you're just not pulling the clutch enough, or trying to shift too early. or you could just not have your foot int eh right spot (if the tip of my shoe is under my shifter (not my foot) then it won't shift)

i've never ridden a new bike before, but i would think you'd need to yank the clutch all the way because things haven't yet bedded in (clutches have plates which in time wear down)