Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Steering Head Bearing

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' at netrider.net.au started by hughhurst1990, Oct 13, 2009.

1. Ok,

So I was told by my bike mechanic that my steering head bearing needs replacing. I believe him because I have been thinking that lately as well as every now and then I get a click from it under braking.

So my questions are -

Can I do this myself?
    Is it hard?
    What will I need?

I am an aircraft mechanic so I know my way around tools. My bike is a 91 ZZR250.

Thanks,

Hugh

2. I think you just answered your own question :wink:

Not too hard, some others will be able to give you better instructions though :)

3. 1. Remove front wheel.
    2. Remove guard.
    3. Remove all bits'n'pieces attached to the forks.
    4. Remove handle bars.
    5. Undo the bolts that clamp the forks in at the triple trees and remove forks.
    6. Undo bolt at the top of the triple tree.
    7. Remove top triple tree bit thing.
    8. Catch all the ball bearings that just fell all over the floor as the bottom triple tree bit fell out.
    9. PM me for the instructions for your bike to get it all back together again. I have them on my computer somewhere.
    10. Success!

Seriously though. PM me with your email addy and I can send you the workshop manual for a ZZR. It has all the torque specs, pictures, and stuffs.

:beer:

Quick edit: You'll need to be creative and after putting the bike on the centre stand, find something low that you can tie the back grab rail of the bike to. (ie. bumper bar of your favourite old car or something). Tighten the straps, allow the bike to tilt back onto it's rear tyre and the front wheel will magically levitate allowing you to complete the job. ;)

4.  Top
  5. Easy peezy!