Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

StayUpright Vic Learner 2 Day Course

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Jozlyn, Jan 11, 2015.

1. Hi, I'm just wondering if anyone can give me a run down/link of what to expect to be doing on the 2 day, StayUpright Learner's Course? The more detail the better!!!! I will be doing the course in the Wimmera at the end of this week 15 & 16/01 and I'd like to know in advance what will happen. I'm the sort of person that likes to be able to anticipate events. I've tried searching this site & Googling but I'm not getting the kind of detailed result I'm after. Any help would be much appreciated. I'm not a complete novice to motorbike riding, but I've not had a massive amount of experience either and only on dirt bikes. Many thanks.

2. If it's anything like the HART 2 day learner course it's something like:

Day 1
    1. Getting on the bike and finding the point the clutch engages, pulling clutch back in
    2. Adding a bit of throttle and moving a short distance, braking, continue this up the range then turn bike around (rolling not with bike on)
    3. Go back down the full way
    4. Going around the outside of the course in first to get some cornering practice
    5. Same thing but switching to second gear and starting to get entry speed for corners correct
    6. Same thing but switching to third
    7. Stop starting around the course to get your take offs going, dropping and upping gears
    8. Some cornering within the lines practice (test item) and general cone cornering
    9. Emergency braking practice (get to 20, stop when they signal ASAP without crashing, allowed to stall)