Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Staying shinny side up

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by UDLOSE, Aug 29, 2011.

1. I'm constantly hearing about accidents due to hitting gravel, oil, water or cold tyres etc. Alot of bike riders seem to have the mentality that one day you'll hit a bad surface and you'll crash and that it's inevitable.

Ive been riding for 4-5 years and am getting close to 100,000km in the saddle and have never come off a bike. I'm not trying to blow my own trumpet with this I could bin it tonight I always dress for the crash.

The other day I was thinking about why that is and I figure it's because I'm overly cautious when it comes to traction.

There's 2 sides to it the first being prevention/hazard perception and the other handling the bike when you do lose traction.

With the latter I've been lucky enough to save myself from a highside on a number of occasions but all of them have been when riding very hard. For the n00bs and especially guys getting off their restrictions and onto their first big bike this is a situation you don't want to be in, there's things you can do to save it (I can explain it if anyone wants) but it all requires fighting survival reactions and staying super calm which only comes from experience, so if it comes down to this you'll probably find yourself sliding down the road.

The best approach is to avoid the situation all together through hazard perception or as me and my mates put it "being a biatch".