Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Stay Upright Adventure Riding course

Discussion in 'Businesses and Service Providers' started by cameronp, Feb 2, 2014.

1. #1 cameronp, Feb 2, 2014
    Last edited: Feb 2, 2014
    Hi all,

I've just got back from doing the Stay Upright Adventure Riding course. From what I can tell, it's a fairly new offering and so may well change over time.

My background: I've been riding on the road for about 18 months. I dabbled a bit in riding my road bike on unsealed roads but didn't really have any idea what I was doing and never got really comfortable with the bike moving around on loose surfaces. I recently bought a DR650, which I've had for about a week, and hadn't ridden it off pavement until today.

There was a group of four of us doing the course today (the maximum size for this course), plus an instructor. It was held at Stay Upright's facility in Hoppers Crossing, but it sounded like it may be moving to an improved location in the near future. The off-road range was quite small, but had a variety of surfaces including sand, a few obstacles and hills of varying levels of difficulty, and a decent amount of shade for a hot day. There were two people on big adventure bikes, me on a DR650, and one guy who borrowed Stay Upright's DR200 trail bike.

The instructor started by explaining some basic theory, including: types of dual-purpose tyres and the compromises in each; tyre pressures; the various forms of guards and protection that are worth fitting to an adventure bike; why you should usually stand up when riding in the dirt; potential hazards of off-road riding; stopping distances and riding in a group; reading the trail surface and picking a line. This lasted for maybe half an hour.