Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Starter maintenance kit

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by Madison, Oct 15, 2010.

1. Starter maintenance/service kit

G'day all

Before I get shot down, I have searched and so have a fair idea of the answer to this already, but am just making sure i haven't missed anything.

I am getting an old POS bike off a mate so that I can teach myself how to do maintenance, servicing and get a bit more savvy on the technical stuff so that I can be confident in buying used bikes in the future and can work on my bike (save money plus the reward of doing my own work).

I have nothing at this point in time, I have limited experience riding (18 months) and no experience with mechanical stuff. So I need to get started from the ground up.

From searching the forum I can gather I need a couple of books (The Essential Guide to Motorcycle Maintenance by Mark Zimmerman is one I am looking to get), I know the Haynes Manuals are good, but seem to be the next level, or should I get them too? I know I will need the shop manual of my bike model, available through Haynes.

For tools I think I need - a set of good quality screwdrivers (Stanley seems to be popular), a socket set (1/2" or 3/8", I'm not actually sure which), a set of allen keys, some spanners, a race stand.

I guess a torque wrench or is this only for when if I start playing around with the engine?

Is there anything I have missed? Do I need all that stuff to start off with, as I will just be doing the most basic things such as changing oil etc and working my way up to doing my own service.

Are there any other tips you can give me for doing my own work that I may have forgotten?