Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Starter bikes/gear. three different dealers. the story

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by i.d.g.a.f, Jan 18, 2006.

1. in the last week and a bit iv made a visit to toowoomba honda, toowoomba kawasaki and boyd yung suzuki (toowoomba).

all three had different opinions about the "learners needs". im not going to point fingers.

gear:

one recommended the cheaper products because im only a highschool student (where's the logic in that...)

the second recommended i spend as much money on protective gear as i possibly could with my budget.

and the third recommended i spend more money on helmets and boots, as they're the statistically most injured areas in motorcycle incidents.

two out of these three tried the hard sell on big expensive brand names (shoei, alpinestars, joerocket etc) simply because of their profit.

the third genuinely based his sales pitch on what he honestly thought were my needs (ok im going to name names in this instance. jeff at toowoomba kawasaki. he really is the best salesman iv ever done business with if your in the region go to him for anything). knowing that i was in fact a first timer and a learner, he explained every feature of the gear i was looking at. and the differences in brands and what i was really paying for.

bikes :

one suggested i buy the cheapest heap of crap i could find, ride it for a year and then sell it to a wrecker....financially helpful.....unfortunately vanity and pride gets the better of me.

the second suggest i buy something modest, keep it for a commuter. and buy a 600 for a weekend fanger. which is a likeable idea