Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Sports vs trail...

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by capri727, Apr 16, 2005.

1. Hi all,

I'm new to this, as my profile would suggest, and have this question for you..

I am a learner, and have only ridden trail bikes and trials bikes around a farm occasionally. I am booked in to do my L's next weekend, and also looking for a bike 2 buy. I'm currently considering a ZZR250 because I will only be riding on the road, and I love the look of them. I'm a little concerned that I won't be able to handle a different riding position. I know I could hop on a CB and be ok, but they look so old fashioned..

Does anyone have any thoughts on this? I know Bond Girl will, but anyone else?

2. the ZZR will take a bit of getting used to, but so will any bike. If this is your first road bike it will probably be replaced when you get off a restricted license. Why not try something new? I would also recommend the CB250, I'm hoping my daughter gets one when she gets her bike L's. It's the bike that launched a thousand riders.

3. Thanks leftleg. It will certainly be my first road bike. I wonder about the restricted licence thing tho, being in NSW where we seem to have more choice.. maybe I will stick with what I get for a while. I notice u have a funduro. My husband and I have had one of those for the last 9 months and just sold it. Nice bike tho.

4. Shame you sold the Funduro. It would have been perfect for you. Learner legal in NSW, road and trail. Don't know how you could bring yourself to part with such a wonderful machine. Shame on you. My bikes quivering to think that some one would even consider it.

As you can see, I really enjoy my bike. i have also been drinking tonight, hence the ramble :D