Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

speedo out? Headlight

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by splitty, Feb 2, 2008.

1. Hi being a newbie i will apolagise up front for asking too many dumb ?s I have 98 cbr600f went for my first long ride to-day i was trying to stay on the speed limit but everyone was passing me like i was going too slow?in 100k zones i was sitting just over the limit ? same in 110 zones? also could someone tell me with my bike should the headlight come on when i turn the key on or when i start the motor :?:

2. Cant help with the headlight although I suspect it comes on when the key is in the "on" position.

Dont be surprised if your speedo is 7 - 10% fast even with standard gearing. Check it against a GPS then you'll know.

3. +1
    and ifyou dont have access to a gps, use one of those 5km stretches on the highways marked with "check your odometer here"
    zero the trip meter and measure it whilst riding.
    if, for example you get to the 5km post and your trip meter reads 5.4km your speedo error is 8% over or, you are doing 100km/h at an indicated 108 on your speedo.
    to work it out mathematically, it is-
    ((a-b)/b)x100 = c
    a= your measured distance
    b= the posted distance
    c= speedo error (could be a positive or negative number)
    :grin:

4. speedo?

thanks i will try the speedo check on the freeway to-morrow :)

5. That's a reasonable assumption, but it does not necessarily correspond in real life.

Our Peugeot odometer reads about 2% under according to the RTA measured 5 km, while the speedo reads about 2% fast, calibrated with the GPS.