Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Spectacle question

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Mormegil, Sep 8, 2006.

1. Hi all.

First question - as you might guess I have no riding experience (my qride course is at the end of the month).

Has anyone had any experiences with wearing "convertibles" brand spectacles?

They're the ones with the magnetic clip on sunglasses.

My only concern is that they might vibrate or blow around.
  2. wow, your first post and you nalready made a spectacle of yourself :shock: :LOL: <----OMG thats terrible.

have worn them, didnt vibrate off but wore a fullface visor down.

and welcome to the forum
  3. Yep, that's terrible - but also helpful :)

Was planning on a full face helmet (WASN'T originally planning on a shoei xr1000 but my malformed noggin won't seem to fit comfortably into anything else).
  4. Welcome Mormegi. I haven't worn them on my bike, I have new photochromatic ones now, but I did wear them in an old open cockpit aircraft with a top speed of about 180kph. I got away with it for a while, but the clip-ons are now somewhere in the general area of the WA wheatbelt.
  5. Welcome Mormegil, I haven't had a problem in the past with mine.

Don't forget to try helmets on with your glasses though.
  6. :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL: :LOL:

Gold :)
  7. I used to wear them, they look like a good idea but I found that after a while they felt heavy and a bit uncomfortable.

I never actually blew a set off though :LOL:
  8. i was going through amcn today and noticed uglyfish have some sort of sunglasses that you can fit prcseription lenses into.. i got no idea how they work or anything, but thought i might mention it. im gunna have a look down at the GP while im there and if they are any good ill post up here.