Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Spada Help needed please

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by WillywareCPS, Aug 14, 2005.

1. Hello all, I am in need of some help, my Honda spada has seemed to have developed a slight problem.

I’m new to bikes so try and bare with me, ill try and explain it the best I can.

About a week ago my bike seemed to loose power. Previously when traveling at about 70kmh I would be in 3rd - 4th gear, but the other week I noticed it was revving higher than normal, quick gear changes and was in 6th (final gear) going 70kmh. could not go any faster cause it was revving way too high and I fear it might blow the engine.

I don’t think this is normal.

Any help or suggestions will be very appreciative.

Thanks

Dave
    WillywareCPS

2. Err... only thing I could think of is slipping clutch, like a car. Checked your clutch lever is setup ok?

3. Yeah, if you are going the same speed, in the same gear, but it is revving harder then the clutch must be slipping.

If it's a cable clutch then adjust it. there is a fine adjust on the handle bar lever and a courser one on the crankcase. Udjust the later first.

If it hydraulic, there wil be a reseviour near the lever, then you cant adjust it and the clutch needs an overhaul. Sorry

4. The Spada's clutch is a cable type so this advice is the first thing you should check. If the cable adjustment doesn't work then you need to put your hand up for as much overtime as you can manage.

5. if i got this right, the clutch cable adjustment is a two peice screw (main adjustment & locking nut) at the base of the clutch leaver. if this is what your talking about then it is fine. i tried that and its it seems to work