Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Spada Chain Touching Swingarm

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by Aarleks, Jul 7, 2013.

1. Hi all,
    Inspecting a 1989 Spada to purchase today I noticed that the chain is touching, or very nearly touching, the chain buffer (?) on the swingarm (see picture). I didn't measure the chain movement, though it didn't seem too loose too the touch. Could this be the issue or could it be something else? Is this a big problem? I am a newbie at this, so forgive me if this is an obvious issue.
    Apart from this and a heap of oil/lube beneath the sprocket cover the bike seemed relatively good (compared to other Spadas I have looked at). Any suggestions would be appreciated.

9229869954_74e584a09d_c_d.

2. I just had a look at mine and it does rest on that plastic when the bike is resting on the side stand. When the bike is stood straight up the chain moves off that guard.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Number 1, clean your chain!

Number 2, it supposed to run over the rubber, it's there to protect the swingarm.

Number 3, clean your chain!

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Jup, chain goes pretty close to the rubber. Think that's why it's got the rubber right there?

If that's the only 'issue' you have, then you probably have a great little bike in front of you :)
    Just need to clean the chain (and take off the chain guard and front sprocket cover to clean the gunk off those bits as well, I assume there'll be so much that you can just scrape it off)! The chain slack is easily adjusted within a few minutes if you do find out that it's too lose.