Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

sounds like bits of metal going around the engine?

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by rabbit, Sep 18, 2007.

1. My gpx has approx 130km on the clock so far, and when its started from cold, I can hear a metallic tinkling kind of noise.

It sounds like there are bits of metal doing laps of the engine or something. (I have very little knowledge of engine mechanics, sorry) It goes on for a few minutes.

Its been down to the dealer for a look, but as it was ridden down and warm, the sound wasn't being made. I do plan to leave it overnight at the dealers when time allows.

Any ideas ?
  2. Cam chain rattle, and a worn engine will take a few secs to get oil pressure up if the oil is thick, and may be a top end rattle until pressure builds.
    With 130km on it, I reckon it would be a bit of a grenade, just ticking away. If it is cam chain, get it done asap, it will be expensive if it lets go....
  3. ^ he's on the money; get thee to a mechanic, pronto!
  4. Rabbit, has the bike only got 130km or 130,000km?

Assuming 130km as its a 2007?
  5. Good point :oops: :).
  6. If it's that new, then cam chain tensioner is most probable.
  7. It may be normal. This is a really old engine design and Kwaka's are never quiet.

Still get an expert to check it out.
  8. Its 130km - its a brand new bike and I've only had it for about 2 weeks.

The mechanic at the kawasaki dealership had a look at it last week, but as it was warm, it didn't make the noise.
  9. cold rattles can be from a cracked piston sounds like a valve head jingling around until it warms up then gos away - if it is a cracked piston i wouldn't go revving it hard as they tend to fly apart at put holes in blocks. Good luck with it