Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

sore neck

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Disco_Dave, Jun 13, 2011.

1. Hi All,
    I am relatively new to riding and for some reason whenever i go on a decent length ride (>1 hour or so) my neck gets really sore (between the shoulders).
    The longer the ride, the more sore the neck.

Has anyone else had this happen and if so was there a way to fix it?
    My helmet isnt heavy (its really light) and my bike has an upright riding position (GS500).

2. Are you relaxing your neck and shoulders when you ride? Stiff arms could also contribute to this as all the bumps in the road could be traveling up your arms.
  3. Mines worse. Im sleeping on an airbed at the moment!!!!!

And yeah, itll be tension rather then helmet weight. Your body needs to adjust to the new position, and your brain needs to adjust to the new thing its nervous about doing ;).
  4. Some concrete??

lol jks. Have you got an aftermarket windscreen or standard, and how tall are you? Where is your neck sore and where do you focus your eyes when riding? (i.e, very low, low, middle, high, or very high)
  5. +1 to relaxing your shoulders, its possible that you're a bit too rigid which wouldn't be making things too comfortable
  6. Difficult to tell sight unseen, go on one of the learner rides and ask one of the more experienced riders if the way your are sitting is putting weight on your shoulders. One general thing with new riders is that they are fairly tense and stiff because of the concentration levels required. As you ride more and get more comfortable, your stance will loosen up and the problem may pass. Also ride stamina is something you develop after time riding. So it may be a temporary thing, don't worry too much yet. :)