Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Sore Hands

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Cezza, Sep 17, 2008.

1. Hi All

I'm a real newbie ( got my Learners) and have picked up lots of great advice from these forums. Tks to all everyone who takes the time to give us new riders tips and help.

I picked up my bike on the weekend and so far have spent a few hours just riding around my immediate neighbourhood. I'm a little nervous to brave the big roads but I guess that will come in a few more days.

I'm finding that after about 20 minutes riding, my hands, particularly my thumbs are beginning to ache. Can anyone tell me if this is due to the levers being to far away or am I gripping on to tight?
  2. g'day and welcome aboard. and to the workd of bikes :D

IMO, it would be from holding on too tight. its something most of us do when we learn. just try to conciously (sp?) relax your hands and see if it makes a difference. also would be from your hands not used to holding something for that long either.
  3. The search function is your friend :)
    This has been answered millions of times.

Relax your grip on the handle bars. Squeeze those knees together to hold the tank, then support your upper weight with your abbs. Takes a bit of getting used, but your rides will extend and extend.

Post up a proper hello in the Welcome Lounge section of the forums. Welcome to Netrider.
  4. Probably gripping too tightly. Are you relaxed? Loose on top tight on bottom (ie. grip the tank with your knees). There are some other threads similar to this one but I think its because you are riding with a rigid upper body instead of loose and flowing. :)
  5. Welcome to NR.
    Imagine your grips are hard boiled eggs .. now ride without breaking them open. :wink: