Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

sore back.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by paynebrody, Apr 30, 2009.

1. hey everyone. im just starting out and have recently purchased a 2000 model zzr-250. im finding that my back is getting pretty sore though after a ride. has anyone else experienced this? any ideas?
    thanks,
    brody.

2. I get this too, after a decent ride i always feel it in my back the next day...i think over time this will go away when the muscles in your back build up a bit more strength

3. Don't try to build your back muscles, build your stomach muscles.

Grip the tank with your legs and keep your stomach a little tense. Don't forget to breathe.

Given time your legs and stomach will get used to it and not only will you have a sexy stomach, but you'll also have fewer back problems.

4. If youre a decent sized person, a 250 is going to be cramped, it just comes with the bike. Sore back, sore nuts :LOL:

Back protectors may help or make the problem worse. Sometimes I dont put on mine properly and it puts tension in odd spots on my back, makes it a lot worse.

5. Yepyep; motorcycling uses different muscles to most other things, or at least uses them in different ways. Just like playing an unfamiliar sport for the first time (or after a long break).

Your body will adapt itself a bit; building up more strength where it's needed, etc.

That said, it may be worth looking up some of the threads about riding posture - supporting your torso's weight using your leg muscles and abdominal muscles to keep your arms free to move, and so on. :)

6. how tall are you?
    i'm a bit over 6'2 and had the same problem on the zzr when starting out. the body will adjust to it.