Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Sore back muscles from riding motorcycle

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by bettyblue, Apr 21, 2012.

1. Hey there,
    Newbie here, so bear with me.

Having started riding in January and in increasing frequency and duration in the past few weeks, I started developing tight back, shoulders and forearm muscles. My massage therapist (sports rehab, don't get ideas) told me that these could be due from motorcycling: braking, using the throttle and clutch. I suppose it didn't help that I dropped the bike a couple of nights ago and had to lift up the bike on my own. My therapist told me to stretch the muscles using tennis ball - roll the back on top of a tennis ball.

FYI, I am a girl and probably not too used to controlling a machine double my weight. I am just wondering if people encounter the same issue and whether these gradually will go away after the muscles develop?

P.S. I'm going for my P plate test tomorrow, wish me luck :)

2. Yeah - Try doing some back strengthening exercises, they should help!
    How did you pick up your motorcycle - were you facing towards it or away from it? You should always pick a motorcycle up with your back facing to it, using your legs to walk backwards, lifting your bike up surprisingly easily. Take hold of the grip further away from you, and something like pillion grab handles or similar object towards the rear of the motorcycle. Put your feet on the ground far away from your and the bike, and just walk backwards. You'll save yourself much effort and muscle ache doing it this way!
    Oh yeah, and good luck for your test :)
  3. I ride a cruiser so it's a different seating position and I can't really comment. Good luck for the test tomorrow!
  4. #4 Mahoney, Apr 22, 2012