Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Soon to be new rider

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by brownie, Jun 25, 2006.

1. Hi all,
    I came across this website a few weeks ago when I first decided to get my L's. It is a fantastic resourse for those who don't have a lot of prior knowledge of bikes. Keep up the good work everyone!

I am looking at getting a 1992 Suzuki Across for my first bike (I have a friend selling one cheap). Is there anything I should look out for on this bike? I'm about 6' tall and over 100kg's, so would this suit someone of my stature?

Other than the Across I was thing of a trail bike with road tyres as has been mentioned in these forums. What models should I be looking at there?

2. welcome, I'm not too good with bike specifics but as alot of people say, go sit on as many as you can till you find one that is the most comfortable for you.

Personally, I found the cb250 that they use in the l's training quite tiresome on my wrists. Whether it was because I was nervous I don't know, but my sportsbike feels much more comfortable for me (i'm 6 foot and 90kgs).