Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Someone in Melb please help me fix my bike.

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by tailsy, Jul 30, 2010.

1. Hi, I'm just wondering if someone could please help me out here.

I'm looking for someone who could help me do a small job on my bike. It is backfiring and won't start so I'm assuming it is the carbs or spark plugs but I'm not good with bikes so I don't know how to fix it myself.

I know it is a big ask but is anyone willing to come and help me fix it please?

Thanks I'd greatly appreciate it.
  2. location, type of bike, age of bike etc?
  3. Ha! " a small job" !!!!! what makes you think that?!!
  4. 1993 Honda CBR250RR...

I am near Chadstone shopping centre.

In regards to it being a 'small job'.. someone reckons I may have fouled my sparkies or that the carbs need to be looked at??..

Please, I'd appreciate it. Sorry to ask.

5. Doubt that fouled spark plugs will cause backfiring. Backfiring is usually caused by incorrect timing but can also be cause by leak at the manifold.

Happy to be corrected by some of the more experienced spannermen

Could we have some more symptoms please? Backfiring but not running...When you try to turn it over is it just going bang and not starting at all. Or is it starting but running badly with backfiring?

And when did this start? Has it been coming on gradually? Did it just suddenly happen? Did you do anything to the bike before it happened?
  6. hmm i would think it was timing.

there is some good instructions in the tech section for testing spark plugs etc. go do those and at least you will know your plugs are okay, and your one theory down on the path to being fixed.