Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Some questions on a Honda CBR 500 R

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Mork, Feb 10, 2015.

1. Hi,

Need some help here. I have a new Honda CBR 500 R with 600km on the clock,I have issues with the following

1) There is play in the throttle. ie I have to turn the throttle 1/8 before it starts engaging. Find this particularly disconcerting. I asked the shop to remove this play, they said that they had reduced it as much as possible, but that there has to be play to operate properly. I'm a noob but this does not sound right. What do you think??

2) The gear change both up and down is clunky and noisy. I don't recall the test bikes being so noisy or stiff.

Your opinions much appreciated.

2. Hi Mark

Welcome to NR.

Question 1: You need some play in the throttle. I believe recommend value is around 6mm of play, before engine revs increase. If there is more than that, it can easily be adjusted. If you are mechanically sound, or have some basic skills, I would highly recommend purchasing a service manual. Its a detailed how-to- everything :)

Question 2: Its brand new, so stiff gear changes was also present with my CBR 500 R. It will get smoother after the 1000km oil change.

Good luck. The CBR500's are awesome!
  3. #3 LalaJ, Feb 10, 2015
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 10, 2015
    It's also a LAMS bike. Mine has a bit if play in it too, you will get used to it.

Make sure you lube the chain, the sound and feel will also ease a great deal with regular and (initially) generous chain lubrication.

Oh and make sure you're practicing your quick shifting while breaking in the new bike! :D