Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

some people have all the luck

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by slyfox, Aug 27, 2005.

1. when not at uni i work as an orderly at the epworth hospital generally in theatre but also in the TAC rehab. department, as you can imagine there are always a few motorcycle guys in there, most have a great story to go with their visit, but this guy is worth a special mention.

55 year old bloke, looks more of a harley rider to me (huge white beard) :p been riding for 20+ years and never had an accident, rides (well, rode..) a GSXR when one day he comes around a blind corner leading onto a freeway (might of been the monash i can't remember) where a council truck is parked by the road cleaning up the shrubs/trees by the roadside and putting them through a wood-chipper. they had neglected to put up signs before the corner warning of their presence.

he hits the breaks, manages to stop when a lady in a cage comes around the corner and cleans him up, he flys up the shoulder of the road (misses the mulcher by a metre or two) :shock: and is pretty smashed up. ambulance arrives and the $#*@ing cage driver is hysterical about their injuries (bruising to knee) and has to be calmed down before they can assist downed rider. :roll: :evil:

he told me this months ago and yesterday when i was picking up a patient for an op it turns out to be him (hadn't seen him since then), i say g'day and have a chat about the council &^*$ up, and he says i've got a good memory, 'isn't it still fresh in your mind??' i say.