Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Some help with a tough decision guys please!! :)

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by MogNo1, Sep 17, 2006.

1. Hi guys,

I'm after abit of advice on the bike to buy since I’m a noob in the world of 2 wheel transportation. I have my L license but looking to find a fully fairing bike to start off on. To my dismay they seem to be few and far between with this new LAMs system that has been introduced unless I go for a 2nd hand 250. Considering they seem to be holding their price and money isn’t an issue I've set my sights on a new bike straight out the showroom. What options do I have for a new, fully fairing, sports bike that is learner legal? Seems to me most of the options are in the other bike classes such as touring or naked or dirtbike. What is a man to do? So far I have come up with 2 options, the Suzuki GS500F and the Hyosung GT650RL. I guess for one, if you can get a larger bike than a 250 there is more room to grow and offers more flexibility till the upgrade once full license is gained. But I guess they have their pros and cons. The Suzuki GS500F is a reputable brand that looks pretty good, should hopefully retain its value and be easily sold when the time comes for a bigger bike. But it seems to be a touring bike to me and like I said, my preference is a sports bike. The Hyosung GT650RL however is a nice looking bike, with a possible exception of the headlight maybe and you have the room the get the restrictor removed for abit of power increase when I loose my L and R's. The killer with me is....Hyowhatta????? Never heard of this Korean machinery in my life. That isn’t necessarily a bad thing as with most things with a good reputation, you pay for the brand name but