Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Solving an Aftermarket LED puzzle

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by Arenal, Nov 12, 2015.

1. Hello all. I am new to the moto world and the proud new owner of a 1980 Suzuki gs450. It's been loved and from what I can gather the only obstruction to rwc is installing the lights. They were included with the bike, they are all led (except the headlamp) and they appear to be cheap.

the old speedometer had wire pairs running to neutral, hi beam,and turn signal indicators as well as a neutral indicator light "switch" (which actually appeared to be just another indicator bulb...)

The new speedo has 5 wires- from trial and error I've gathered they are a shared earth, hi beam and neutral indicators, and TWO wires for one turn signal indicator.

My questions then...

1- what the hell do I with the old "neutral indicator light switch" pair? They are currently just hanging. The neutral light is on but will not switch off.

2- has anyone installed turn signals in a similar set up? I have wired what I thought were the old + and - into the new speedos TWO turn signal indicator wires- left and right light up independently but no blinking...

I appreciate any suggestions, ideas or experience. I feel like I'm close.... Check out the wiring diagram.

2. Wiring diagram didn't work I am just getting a broken image icon.

In two wire indicator telltale situations generally they just go either side of the telltale globe. Depending on which side is indicating the other side is switched to ground. If your new telltale is LED then this is unidirectional and so you need to do some more fiddling around to get it to work.