Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Solo GAR Adventure

Discussion in 'Roads, Touring, Journeys, and Travel' started by Dionikon, Mar 18, 2011.

1. So I've heard people yammer on about GAR this and GAR that for the last few months when I started riding. So I figured, what the hell, I should give this Great Alpine Road thing a try.

So the plan was to take the following route:

Day 1:
    - Diamond Creek, Kinglake, Kinglake West, Yea, Mansfield, Whitfield, Bright

Day 2:
    - Bright, Mt Beauty, Falls Creek, Mt Beauty, Mt Hotham, Dinner Plain, Omeo, Bruthren, Bairnsdale

Day 3:
    - Bairnsdale, Sale, Moe, Noojee, Warburton, Marysville, Healesville, Kinglake, Diamond Creek, Home

I stuck pretty much to the plan, except for a slight wrong turn up Mt Donna Buang instead of taking the Reefton Spur to Marysville. The road up Donna Buang is well worth it, but I don't recommend following the signs to Healesville, there is a lot of dirt road down that way (20-ish k's of loose rutted gravel).

All I can say is, WOW what a ride!

So many great stretches of road, if I had to pick a favourite it would be a dead heat between Tarwonga Rd (between Bright and Mt Beauty), the road from Omeo to Bairnsdale, or the Moe to Noojee road.

Here's a couple of pics from the trip, all gratuitous bike shots I'm afraid, with only me and the bike it was difficult to take photos of much else. Next time I'm taking a video camera!

Attached Files:

2. Fantastic journey mate and great pics ! Traversed those roads previously and I type this with envy - another trip to those magnificent parts definitely on the cards in the near future.
    Well done to you for doing the trip, albeit 'solo', and what an awesome bike to enjoy the magnificent scenery/sunshine with (y)