Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Soft forks

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by duff_boy, Mar 21, 2008.

1. Hey guys, im loving my GSF250v bandit, but the front forks are a little on the soft side! So i was thinking perhaps ill try replacing the oil first, see if that helps. What i need to know is what grade of oil(heavier) would be good, and how much i need to add.

Im a diesel mechanic so doing it myself is no worries, just have little experience with bikes. Can it be done with the forks on the bike? Im assuming theres a drain plug on the bottom to drain it, and then just fill it through the top, in the correct quantity?

Also, is it possible to get aftermarket springs that are stiffer? if so, who sells them?
  2. If noone else chimes in with the official information, here is some general advice:

Most non-USD forks are designed around 5W or 8W oil. Try 10W for a stiffness improvement.

You can usually put an inch of tube or broad rod on top of the spring underneath the fork cap, in order to pre-load the springs with extra pressure. This will feel firmer on the road.

Voila, cheap front fork improvement!

BEFORE YOU Drain the forks, take the cap off the fork, gently slide the spring out (allow the oil on the spring to drain back into the fork) and measure the air gap from the top of the fork to the surface of the oil. Accurately.

Most bikes these days don't have a fork oil drain screw anymore. You could take the fork out and pour the oil out (work the fork up and down a few times to get the oil out of the circuit .

When you re-fill the fork with new oil, top it up to the same air gap (or fork oil level) as it had before, or even better, the correct one as per the specifications (if you can find out).