Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

So the time has come, To get my licence :D Finally!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by bcurko, Mar 21, 2012.

1. Hello fellow netriders,

It's been nearly 4 years since I first posted on this board and been educating myself on motorcycles here and now.
    Not even kidding (https://netrider.net.au/forums/showthread.php?t=95478) 2008 Was my first post

I've finally decided to go for my licence (my parents have decided*) so I can actually get my own motorcycle gear and what not.. Now I'm going to look like a total noob so please forgive me for asking these stupid questions.

I am currently on my Reds (P1 NSW) going on my greens in September, Do I still have to get the rta certificate for learners then be on my L's for 3 months before I can progress to P's or can I go straight to P's after I get my L's?

My sisters bf was suggesting for me to start up get some nice kevlar jeans, decent jacket/helmet and quality gloves and then buy a 08 Kawaski Ninja 250R and put a nice yoshi exhaust on the back if I want some decent sound.

I'm about 185cm tall so I'm going to have to go shopping and see what bikes fit my body and positioning but what would you motorcycle enthusiasts suggest for a new rider ? I'm thinking about 4-6K should be decent enough for my first bike+gear+insurance and the other bs..

Hoping I can join up with one of the clubs or hit up a practice session with any locals around the south west (fairfield area) in the future when I have my licence and bike..

Cheers Brenton
  2. If you want it to sound like a wet fart.

Or get down to the Sydney Learner Sessions at Homebush on Saturday's @1.00pm (info in the first post).