Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

So many options. Advice appreciated

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by HotelWhisky, Dec 8, 2014.

1. Hey Guys,

I posted in the lounge a week or so ago and since then have been looking around and considering my options. Just for context, I am a 22 year old bloke in Canberra, about 6' and about 120kgs. I am new to road bikes but have ridden off road before on farms and the like, and have been driving cars for 6 years.

I have considered getting a bike before but never really could justify it to myself. But I am moving to a new position with work where parking is going to be a killer, but I will have a little more cash to play with. And TBH I just want to be able to go cruising on a bike.

I am doing my L's next week, and have been into a local dealer to have a look at some bikes and have thus far been overwhelmed by my options. Fortunately this dealer will let L-platers test ride, so I have that option, but some people also seem to think that's maybe not such a great idea with my lack of experience.

So far I have been particularly taken by the Honda CBR range, something about the CBR300RR ABS in black and yellow just does it for me, but I have also considered the CBR500RR, CB300F, Kawa Ninja 300, Suzuki Inazuma 250, and even the KTM's look good.

The reason I have been looking at new bikes as opposed to older 2nd hand ones is primarily that as I know nothing about bikes I wouldn't trust myself to know what I am looking for when I actually went to see a bike, and that realistically to cost difference at this price range is not that huge. Budget is 6-8k.