Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

So many 2nd hand bikes cheap!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by swaytan, Mar 28, 2012.

1. Hi Guys,

Didn't really know what section to post this in so forgive me if I'm in the wrong place.

I'm new to all this riding stuff, only been on my L's for just under 3 months. As a car nut I frequent CarSales to just see what's out there & what is worth how much at the moment. I often have friends of friends etc looking for cars, so I generally help out looking for cars. So now that I've fallen in love with riding I'm frequently on BikeSales etc researching my next purchase.

My question is why there are so many, particularly sport bikes, with bugger all k's being sold by private sellers? I've mainly been looking at Gixxers 1000s etc.

The only 2 reasons I could think of are: 1. The bike turned out to be much faster than the ability of the person who bought the bike. 2. Buying the bike sounded like a good idea at the time but they rarely get an opportunity to ride it.

I do find it really hard to believe that somebody would just drop $20k on a new sport bike without being sure they were going to ride it!

Any thoughts?

2. could be a 'mid life crisis' thing ??

3. Husband buys bike, thinking it'll blow over. It doesn't.

• Like Like x 1
  4. [​IMG]

• Like Like x 1
  5. Gixxers are also extremely popular, so there is a lot of competition to go up against, people price low so theirs sticks out. They probably bought it cheapish themselves so it's a self fulfilling prophecy.

• Like Like x 1
  6. I know a few blokes that always have the new model, so the outdated bike always goes cheap.

7. It is a sign of the times. A motorbike is a luxury item, unless you are using it to commute to work.