Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

So I'm wondering if riding is for me...

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Gurbachen, Nov 8, 2011.

1. The title says it all, I'm beginning to doubt whether I'm really all that into riding after all, or maybe if I'm just bored of my bike already (Royal Enfield). I'm just not motivated to ride, and ever since I started riding to/from work, I don't think I've been out for a single recreational ride. The sheer number of times I've considered selling my stupid bike makes me think that maybe it's just the bike I'm over.

It's sure given me my fair share of headaches. Most recently it tried to break my leg (for the umpteenth time) when I tried to kickstart it (to spare the battery the effort of electric start since it decides to die all the time) then tried to plant itself in my friends garden while I hobbled around swearing. Often when I'm riding, well almost all the time really, I feel...well it depends on the day, sometimes 'bored' is the right word, sometimes 'calm' carries the correct connotations. My breathing and heart rate drop to glacial speeds, and I find myself trundling along kind of idly looking at buildings and thinking random thoughts. Whether this is a sign that I'm fully relaxed and at peace while riding, or if I'm just bored, well the jury's still out on that, but it makes me wonder whether I'm really enjoying it, or if I just claim to.