Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

So I wanted to be a rider

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by astrodil, Nov 2, 2014.

1. Hi everyone, newbie here

I'm a 22yo guy who's about to finish uni at Sydney and start post-grad at Canberra. After watching tonnes of motorvlogs on youtube for months, I realised I was very intrigued by motorcycles. I was never very interested in cars, nor the adrenaline of high speed, hence I think a cruiser might be more suitable for my personalities (Intruder 250, Vstar 650 are looking really appealing).
    However as I still live with my parents, naturally they would disagree and to a certain degree I also share their worries (I wouldnt be too comfortable doing something my parents are against to). I know under all the fun and convenience, motorcycles can be lethal, and I dont want to be blinded by the excitement. Especially after looking though some statistics, I realised Sydney is not a very safe place for newbies, although ACT looks more forgiving (I wonder if I should learn riding there instead).
    So here I am, wanting to be a rider, yet also troubled by its safety. Thus I would love to know what I can do to minimise my chance of becoming a statistics, enjoy the ride without constant paranoia, and give both my family and myself a peace of mind.

Cheers
    Dil
    p.s how do i view some of the resources here, they keep saying i dont have the permission to view the contents

2. #2 Jem, Nov 2, 2014
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2014
    Welcome aboard.

You need a certain amount of posts up (10 from memory) to get into certain areas of the forum. Stops the spammers etc.

As to riding and learning.

1. Do the learners courses