Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

So i dropped my bike today :(

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by Patrick, Aug 15, 2007.

1. Yeh.. im a really big noob at riding, and i think i opened the throttle while trying to pull on the front brake, basically back wheel skidded out.

I managed to catch it before it landed all the way down, but my indicators snapped off (both) i have since glued them back on. Also lost the balance/weight from the end of my right grip and the front brake lever snapped off too :/ The bike is pretty old it seems generally very brittle :(

The bike was pretty low on battery, but now it isn't starting.. any way a small fall like this could do serious damage?

Also, any suggestion on cheapest way to get a new weight and brake lever for my right side?

Thanks guys.
  2. Welcome to the Forum. Sorry to hear about the stack, and after being a netrider for only two days :wink:

Levers pretty much always snap, new or old.

And you are lookign for a "bar end" (balance/weight), don't know if you can buy one, try a bike shop or even wreckers for any parts you need.

Bike should start up after letting sit a while - or is the battery flat?
  3. Sorry to hear that. I know how you feel - i had my first drop 4 weeks ago.
    With the brake and throttle thing, try and think of them as one control IE Close throttle off and roll palm up to make sure its closed before squeezing front brake. Also if you wear gloves (which you should) make sure they dont bunch up around your palms as that can cause the throttle to stick.

Try ebay for levers, indicators and bar-ends. But i dont know how easy it is to get parts for 250rrs
  4. i did find the parts on ebay, but looking at $50+ for a lever and bar end, everything else fixed with glue :)