Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Snow chains

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by Gobbledegeek, Mar 7, 2007.

1. I would like to be heading off to the mountains at every opportunity this Winter, should we get any white stuff, and was wondering whether there were snow chains available for bikes. This will sound like a dumb question if there's a simple mechanical or practical reason why there are not but I'm still very new to this biking malarkey....

2. no there are not.

Simple reason: the bumps you would experience would effectively mean that the bike is unrideable. And cars don't have to worry about slipping and falling over in snow and ice. Bikes do (and chains wouldn't stop from slipping well enough).
  3. Ahh, I thought there might be a simple reason, cheers.
  4. get some spiky tyres like in James bond movies :twisted:
  5. Your only chance is different tyres.
    eg. Dirt bike style rubbers.... though you'd also want the suspension...and the bike... hahaha.
  6. Yep, though whether or not you could get them to fit your bike might be an issue
  7. check if u can get some studded tyres the studs would be screw in and would only be good on deep snow and ice
  8. Living in a country where spike tyres are a reality rather than a fantasy, i must say that they are good for all driving/riding conditions! The only bad part about using them on dry roads is that the studs wear down quickly and also tear up the road.
    This past winter i have seen a number of enduro bikes and scooters fitted with spike tyres riding around in temps well below zero. One day it was even almost -20 degrees celsius and some idiot was out on his mopo (50cc enduro)!! Craziness, imagine the wind chill factor! :shock: