Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Smart phone + GPS.

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by coxc, Sep 18, 2012.

1. I've never owned a phone that cost more than a pack of ciggerettes, but as I'll be living off the bike for a good while I figured I'll get a smartphone instead of a dedicated GPS+ laptop + sansaclip+.

I have no experience in this area and would apprieciate advice.

$400 would be the most I'd be willing to pay for the phone itself, but I have no idea what to buy.I'd prefer not to buy an Iphone.

A good GPS function would be ideal I hear MetroView would be the best App (Does MV work offline?)

I assume telstra would be a must for coverage, how much would I expect to pay monthly for a large data pack (5+gig)?
    I'd like to be able to listen to music or the radio, while receiving directions either by bluetooth or headphones.
    Quick route ajustments, and POI would be a big bonus (I assume this is a part of MV)

Sorry for the 20 questions, but I genuinely have NFI what I need, and don't want to make a 400$ mistake.

TL:DR. Cheapest Android phone and provider/plan for GPS, music, Internet and p0rn.

2. Just get a cheapo phone and buy a compatible third party GPS Navigation Software.........................

I now have this setup after some scum stole my motorbike GPS. It works without the need for internet or network coverage..........it pretty much the same as your normal car GPS...........I love it, I even use it walking around the city.

Something like this might suit ya................http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/GPS-Navi...AU_MobilePhoneAccessories&hash=item41609884dd
  3. motorola atrix, and the laptop dock.